Building 3DTek Heavy Mill

aussiemike

aussiemike
I bought the Heavy Mill kit with Masso/Gecko G540 2.2KW Spindle May 2017. It took a few weeks to get the assembly and initial wiring done, then life got busy and it sat in my shed gathering dust. Finally found some time for it again and switched on for the first time this week. No luck getting the steppers to respond yet and have questions not covered by the documentation. Maybe the other Heavy Mill people here can help.

My background is ex RAAF communications technician working on 10KW and 20KW HF transmitters, airfield navigation aids and air traffic control tower equipment for 15years. The last 25years I've been a subcontractor to Defence installing data networks. I'm also a hypnotist. I'm a woodworker and beekeeper and will use the mill mostly for woodwork, but want to give metal milling a whirl too.

testyourdesign

testyourdesign
Welcome aboard @aussiemike

Sounds like you've had a great career. I'd love to see some photos of your Mill Kit setup so we can help with sorting out. Peter @masso-support has experience with those G540's so stay tuned for more feedback.

Cheers, Stephen Brown

aussiemike

aussiemike
Thanks Stephen,

I just realised I started the build May 2017 and put it on hold for ages while I was too busy for a life. Just got back into it this week. My Masso is way out of date, so have emailed for the latest software updates. I still have a bit to wire up. Spindle coolant pump relay, work coolant pump relay, touch plate. I'll take some pics when I'm next in the workshop. I'm looking forward to each stage... getting the steppers to jog will be exciting.

Cheers,

Mike

clover

clover
Yes welcome from me too @aussiemike. A great range of experiences, they will be useful in the days to come, thanks for sharing. Congratulations on resurrecting the dormant project.