Plasma table general disscusion

machinedude

machinedude
OK for starters I'm not even close to doing any thing like this but it has caught my interest for my next project once I get my mill build to the point where I can at least make some chips.

what I do have is sitting around is 3 geko G201x drives , 3- 1300 in/oz sure step motors and a 75v DC power supply for a controller. I was thinking a plasma table would add some material processing needs I don't have at the moment.

what I have seen looking into this is different torch heads, different table types and off course the cutter it's self can range quite a bit in price and if I were to do this the Plasma cutter would most likely not be a top end unit. table size would be no less than a 4' x 4' table and a clean cut on no less than 1/2 material.

i'm looking for some general insight on the process in general as far as costs go and what type of table would best suite my needs best. machine torch options. I have some experience with laser processing but the plasma is something new to me so go easy on me.

evermech

evermech
This is something that I have been seriously considering for a couple months now. It would be a smart addition to my business activities and support what I do well. I will be watching this post closely

Guy

machinedude

machinedude
I was already thinking a water table would be the way to go as far as a table goes. seems like they contain the mess the most to keep your work space cleaner. I would imagine they help with keeping the material you cut flatter than with out one.

with laser processing dross is something you never want to see much of. I think everyone would agree cleaning it off you parts sucks. I was wondering if anyone has used both and had any input as if a water table helps keep dross to a minimum?