Still need help with the Proma THC.

Ross

Ross
I put the meter on to the plasma raw voltage and got a reading of 91volts.

In plain understandable English I need to know in which setting is the 91volts placed into the Proma.

Is it in the screen that displays first when you turn it on or do you have to go to the H-V setting and place it there?

The more I search the internet the more confused I get. Plus Proma's manual is absolutely useless for explaining how it to configure it.

Thanks to anyone who has constructive info to help me with this, from Ross.

"And NO I don't have a Everlast plasma and yes I think I can get speeds of 15meters a minute seeing I use closed loop 8nm motors plus all G-codes are working! " Sorry I had to add this but I just need help not rat bagging. Seeing I am a novice to all this.

masso-support

MASSO Support
Staff member
Hi Ross,

I don't know much about Plasma but I know a little bit about meters and if you are using an off the shelf multimeter to measure your voltage the reading will be wrong.

As I understand it Plasma use high frequency and multimeters are designed to read DC and low frequency (50 to 60 hz) AC not high frequency voltage.

Air ionizes at about 15000 volts per centimeter so 91 volts won't strike an arc.

Looking at the Proma manual I agree, it really doesn't say a lot.

Cheers

Peter

Ross

Ross
Good to here from Peter,
I just came across a THC from plasmaSens and I see that they can speak plan English (page 7), looks the same as the Proma.
I have a few plans to get this thing going, first is to go to the electrician that wired our building cause he teaches at the local university to check that the Proma is reading the correct voltage.
Second is after that if I still can't get it working I have decided to ring an experienced company that builds plasma cutters and pay them to come and fix the thc to suite my setup.
Well if all fails their is always plan B, router table!
Thanks for your advice from Ross.

Attachments